close Icon

King's Birthday Honours

  • 12 Jun 2023
Australian Honours 1380X660

Burnet Institute congratulates associates, collaborators, colleagues and supporters who have been recognised in the 2023 King’s Birthday honours. The list includes: 

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)

  • Clinical Associate Professor Robert Ali (University of Adelaide), for distinguished service to medical and health research, particularly drug and alcohol dependence, and to education and training
  • Melbourne Lord Mayor, Sally Capp, for distinguished service to the people of Melbourne, to local government, to business, and to the community through various organisations
  • Scientia Professor Louisa Degenhardt (UNSW), for distinguished service to medical research, particularly addiction and mental disorders, to psychology, and to professional associations
  • Professor David Ellwood, (Griffith University) for distinguished service to medicine as an obstetrician and gynaecologist, to research and tertiary education, and to professional associations
  • Dr Cassandra Goldie, CEO of the Australian Council of Social Service, for distinguished service to social justice through leadership and advocacy to promote the rights of people marginalised and disadvantaged in the community
  • Professor Jane Gunn, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences at the University of Melbourne, for distinguished service to medical administration in leadership roles, to tertiary education and research, and to the community
  • Associate Professor Misty Jenkins (WEHI), for distinguished service to medical science as an immunologist, to the promotion of women in STEM, and to the Indigenous community
  • Professor Michael Kidd, Principal Medical Advisor and Deputy Chief Medical Officer with the Australian Government Department of Health, for distinguished service in medical administration and community health, to primary care leadership, and to tertiary education
  • Professor Glen Liddell-Mola, for distinguished service to obstetrics and gynaecology, to reproductive health research, and to medical education in the Pacific region
  • Nicholas Moore, former CEO of Macquarie Group Ltd, for distinguished service to the finance, business, and commerce sectors, to arts administration, and to education
  • Alan Schwartz, businessman and philanthropist, for distinguished service to the community through philanthropic endeavours, and to sustainable social benefit initiatives

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)

  • Professor Melanie Bahlo, statistical geneticist and bioinformatician at WEHI, for significant service to genetic and infectious disease research, and to public health
  • Professor Deborah Bateson, University of Sydney, for significant service to medicine through research and education, and to reproductive health
  • Jane Bell, non-executive director and Deputy Chair of Monash Health, for significant service to governance in the medical research, healthcare, and not- for-profit sectors
  • Joanne Gray, Acting Pro Vice Chancellor, Education at the University of Technology Sydney, for significant service to education, and to the midwifery profession
  • Professor Nicky Leap (UTS), for significant service to midwifery as a clinician and educator
  • Professor Mark Hargreaves, University of Melbourne Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Partnerships & Infrastructure), for significant service to tertiary education, to sports administration, and to physiology
  • Professor Emerita Sally Tracy (University of Sydney), for significant service to tertiary education and to midwifery

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

  • Associate Professor Kelly Rogers, Head, WEHI Centre for Dynamic Imaging, for service to medical research
  • Dr Norman Roth, founder of the Prahran Market Clinic, for service to sexual health medicine
  • Sophie Scott, ABC Health Reporter, for service to the broadcast media, and to community health