close Icon

Burnet welcomes new board members

  • 19 Dec 2023

Burnet Institute is delighted to welcome two new members to its Board of Directors, Robin Davies and James Flintoft

Burnet Director and CEO Professor Brendan Crabb AC said: “Robin and James bring extensive experience and capabilities across state and federal government bureaucracies, as well as the health and private sectors more generally.” 

“Joining an already stellar board that is chaired by long-time board-member Mary Padbury, they add substantially to the Burnet board’s capacity to oversee the governance and strategic direction of the Institute. We are very fortunate to have them join the team.”


Brief Bio on Robin Davies

An Honorary Professor at the Development Policy Centre within the Crawford School of Public Policy at the Australian National University, Mr Davies leads investigative research and commentary on breaches of various norms and standards in the Indo-Pacific region. 

In a former role as Head the Global Health Division of Australia’s Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT), he oversaw the development and implementation of regional pandemic response and other health security initiatives.

Mr Davies held a range of senior policy and program management roles with the Australian Agency for International Development (AusAID) for close to twenty years in Canberra, Paris and Jakarta, including as a member of the agency’s Senior Executive Service.

He headed the Agency’s International Programs and Partnerships Division in 2010 and 2011, established its Sustainable Development Group, and was country director in Indonesia from 2003 to 2006.
Mr Davies is currently on the board of the Global Health Security Network and Femili PNG Australia, and was a board member of UNICEF Australia from 2013-2017.


Brief Bio on James Flintoft

Mr Flintoft is a facilitator at the Agriculture Workforce Working Group, a tri-partite group comprising industry, unions, and Commonwealth working across multiple portfolios/domains, including, skills, migration, worker protection, worker attraction, housing, inclusion/diversity, and data.

He has worked in Commonwealth and State Governments in CEO and Deputy Secretary roles and spent 10 years as a senior executive at ANZ with prior experience on ASX, government and not-for-profit boards.

He is currently Non-Executive Director at Transport Accident Commission, Development Victoria, Epworth Health Group and Yulgilbar Group (Myer Family) and he brings diverse skills based on serving various boards across health care, regional development, social/disability insurance, property development and technology.