close Icon

Timothy Ho

PhD student
Timothy Ho 210X210

Tim is a PhD student at the Burnet Institute and Monash University. His supervisors are Professor James Beeson, Dr Linda Reiling, and Dr Lee Yeoh. The Beeson group focuses on defining the determinants of malaria immunity to develop novel malaria vaccines. Specifically, Tim’s research aims to improve the modest efficacy imparted by the leading pre-erythrocytic stage vaccine, RTS,S, which is based on the circumsporozoite protein. He is testing whether incorporating epitopes from this protein that are not present in RTS,S would better protective antibody responses in animal models.

In addition, Tim is investigating if MSP2, an abundant blood-stage protein, would be a suitable vaccine candidate. Using peptide screening arrays, immunoassays, and sera from exposed populations, he is identifying regions and epitopes of MSP2 that are associated with functional antibodies. Tim will then assess the protective potential of these regions in vaccine constructs. As a part of his research goals, Tim is also exploring if synergistic protection can be achieved when different malaria antigens are combined into a single vaccine.  

Tim obtained an Honours degree from the University of Auckland in 2018, where he worked on Group A Streptococcus. Before starting his PhD, Tim also worked in the nutraceutical industry.

  • 2022–Present: Doctor of Philosophy, Monash University, Australia
  • 2018: Bachelor of Biomedical Science (Honours), University of Auckland, New Zealand
  • 2015–2017: Bachelor of Science, University of Auckland, New Zealand
  • 2022–Present: Australian Society for Parasitology
  • 2023–Present: Research Assistant, Malaria Immunity and Vaccines Group, Burnet Institute, Melbourne, Australia
  • 2023: Teaching Associate, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia
  • 2023: Student Conference Travel Grant, Australian Society for Parasitology
  • 2022—Present: Research Training Program (RTP) Stipend and Fees Offset, Monash University, Australia
  • 2022: Peoples’ Choice Award for 3-minute thesis, Burnet Institute Student Symposium