close Icon

Doctor Hayley Bullen

Deputy Working Group Head, Malaria Virulence and Drug Discovery Group
Hayley Bullen

After completing her Bachelor of Biomedical Science degree in 2006, Hayley went on to pursue her Honours and PhD degrees in the laboratory of Professor Brendan Crabb and Associate Professor Paul Gilson at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute and later at the Burnet Institute. Her work centred on deciphering the roles of novel membrane protein complexes in the malaria parasite Plasmodium falciparum, specifically the export machinery termed PTEX. 

After completing her PhD studies, Hayley moved to the laboratory of Professor Dominique Soldati-Favre at the University of Geneva, Switzerland where she continued her research on model Apicomplexan parasite Toxoplasma gondii. Here she deciphered the signalling mechanisms underpinning a key step in the invasion process of T. gondii

In late 2015 Hayley moved back to the Burnet Institute in the laboratory of Professor Brendan Crabb and Associate Professor Paul Gilson, whereupon she initiated antimalarial mechanism of action and resistance studies, and investigations into novel aspect of malaria protein export. 

  • 2012: PhD in parasitology (Plasmodium falciparum) Burnet Institute and WEHI, Victoria, Australia.
  • 2015: Masters in Public Health, The University of Newcastle
  • 2007: Bachelor of Science (Honours), WEHI
  • 2006: Bachelor of Biomedical Science, The University of Melbourne
  • 2021/2022: Burnet Institute Shark Tank funding
  • 2021: FREDA funding
  • 2021: Margaret Harrison Parental Leave Grant
  • 2020: Beever Fellowship
  • 2020: NHMRC Ideas grant–Discovering how a novel anti-malarial drug series rapidly kills parasites
  • 2019: Geoffrey Connard Travel Award
  • 2015: Fondation Gertrude von Meissner award (not accepted)
  • 2014: EMBO short term fellowship (not accepted)
  • 2012: OzeMalAR travel fellowship
  • 2011: Australian Society for Parasitology student travel award
  • 2011: Miller foundation biomedical research travel award-Burnet Institute
  • 2010: Victorian Infection and Immunity network student symposium best speaker award
  • 2009: Australian Society for Parasitology student travel award
  • 2008-2012: Australian Postgraduate Award-University of Melbourne
  • 2007: Alan W. Harris Honors scholarship- The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute
  • 2007: The University of Melbourne Honors scholarship