Travel award winners on the move

Burnet Institute

09 August, 2016

Kerryn Moore receives her Harold Mitchell Foundation Postdoctoral Travel Fellowship from Burnet Director and CEO Professor Brendan Crabb AC

Burnet staff will visit Paris, Thailand, Boston, Atlanta and Papua New Guinea as winners of $22,000 worth of Burnet Institute Travel Awards announced today.

Tom Angelovich (Jaworowski Laboratory, Centre for Biomedical Research) won a Harold Mitchell Foundation Postdoctoral Travel Fellowship of $5,000, which will support his work in HIV.

“I’m going to CROI, a conference for retro viruses and opportunistic infections, Seattle, in Feb 2017,” Dr Angelovich said.

“CROI is one of the major annual HIV conferences so a lot of up and coming researchers present there each year and a lot of what comes out there goes on to influence treatment guidelines.”

Kerryn Moore (Fowkes Laboratory and Centre for Population Health) won a Harold Mitchell Foundation Postgraduate Travel Fellowship supporting her work in malaria epidemiology.

IMAGE: Dr Tom Angelovich presented with his Harold Mitchell Foundation Postdoctoral Travel Fellowship by Professor Crabb

“I’ll be going to a conference in Brisbane, then travelling to the north-west of Thailand to the Shoklo Malaria Research Unit,” Ms Moore said.

“That’s where all the data from my PhD comes from so I’ll be working with my supervisor over there collecting and analysing.”

The Harold Mitchell Foundation Fellowships are open to a junior postdoc fellow studying in any field of research with no more than five years full time postdoc experience.

A postdoctoral scientist with the Tachedjian Laboratory, Dr Anna Hearps won the Hon Geoffrey Connard Travel Fellowship of up to $2,000, to support her work in retroviral biology.

“I’ll be going to the International Aids Conference in Paris in 2017, to meet with the best of the best,” she said.

IMAGE: Geoffrey Connard Travel Fellowship winner, Dr Anna Hearps

“I’m going to present our work looking at a novel subset of adaptive NK cells in HIV, and I’ll be talking to our collaborators in the field who will also be there.”

The Beeson/Richards Laboratory’s Vashti Irani received the Pauline Speedy Biomedical Research Travel Fellowship of $4000.

“I’m going to the American Society for Tropical Medicine and Hygiene conference in Atlanta, Georgia in November,” she said.

“I’ll be presenting some work on a study I did in my PhD in a phase one vaccine trial, and I’m also going to visit a lab in Dartmouth, New Hampshire, which is using some technology that we hope to collaborate on, also as part of my PhD.”

PNG Home Management of Malaria Team Leader and Deputy, Sakaiah Luana and Rebecca Gabong, won the Crockett-Murphy Travel Award (up to $5,000) to support national staff in Burnet’s programs overseas.

IMAGE: Rebecca Winter, winner of a Miller Foundation Public Health Travel Award

Sexual and Reproductive Health Specialist, CIH, Lisa Davidson accepted the award on behalf of the winners, and said the pair were passionate about community engagement and health system strengthening, and were very worthwhile winners.

They managed a team of 20 local staff who provide supervision, support and training for community leaders to test for and treat malaria at a village level.

Burnet Institute Director and CEO Professor Brendan Crabb AC said the program had been a radical experiment, which had proven “extremely successful”.

“These guys go all the time in their 4WD to the community … their legacies are incredibly tangible,” he said.

Rebecca Winter (Centre for Population Health) and the Drummer/Poumbourios Laboratory’s Hannah King both won Miller Foundation Public Health Travel Awards of $500.

Contact Details

For more information in relation to this news article, please contact:

Professor Brendan Crabb AC

Director and CEO; Co-Head Malaria Research Laboratory; Chair, Victorian Chapter of the Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes (AAMRI)




Subscribe to News

Subscribe to receive our latest news: