NHMRC Award for Burnet researchers

Angus Morgan

23 September, 2015

IMAGE: Professor Brendan Crabb and Professor James Beeson

Burnet Institute Director and CEO Professor Brendan Crabb AC, and Head of Centre for Biomedical Research Professor James Beeson, have been acknowledged with one of the Australian National Health and Medical Research Council’s (NHMRC) highest honours.

Professors Crabb and Beeson received a prestigious NHMRC Research Excellence Award for the Highest Ranked Program Grant for 2014 as members of a team seeking to develop improved strategies to prevent and treat malaria.

Their collaboration with lead investigator Professor Alan Cowman and Professor Ivo Mueller, both from the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute, and Dr Stephen Rogerson from Melbourne University, focuses on the biology, transmission and public health effects of malaria.

The approach includes understanding the interaction of the malaria parasite with the immune system, identifying potential antimalarial drug targets and developing tools to track malaria transmission.

The award was announced by the Federal Minister for Health, The Hon Sussan Ley MP, at the NHMRC Council dinner in Canberra.

IMAGE: Professor Alan Cowman and Health Minister The Hon Sussan Ley

A total of 16 researchers received awards for having the top-ranked grant application in their category.

Minister Ley said she was proud of Australia’s standing on the international research stage and that these awards recognised some of the leading Australian researchers.

“Australia is a world leader in health and medical research and these researchers will no doubt continue to make a strong contribution to improving the health of all Australians,” Ms Ley said.

“The Coalition Government is committed to enhancing health and medical research in Australia following the landmark Medical Research Future Fund passing the Parliament earlier this year.

“I congratulate the award winners and look forward to continuing to work closely with the research community to come up with the treatments of tomorrow, today.”

IMAGE: NHMRC Research Excellence Award winners with Health Minister The Hon Sussan Ley and NHMRC CEO Professor Anne Kelso

NHMRC CEO Professor Anne Kelso described the award winners as being among the highest-performing NHMRC-funded researchers.

“These researchers are representative of the fine research talent that exists in Australia,” Professor Kelso said.

“The award recipients range from established Australian heavy-hitters in health and medical research to promising up-and-coming researchers who are blazing a fast path through their fields.

“I am so delighted with the field of talent we have. All of these researchers have already or no doubt will make a strong contribution to improving the health of the nation.”

Contact Details

For more information in relation to this news article, please contact:

Angus Morgan

Manager Media and Multimedia




Subscribe to News

Subscribe to receive our latest news: