Burnet appointment to NHMRC Council

Angus Morgan

23 July, 2015

Burnet Director and CEO Professor Brendan Crabb AC has been appointed to the Council of the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC).

Professor Crabb is one of 13 leading medical researchers, academics, clinicians and administrators appointed to the Council, Australia’s premier source of expert advice on health, research ethics and funding for research.

Also appointed to the Council is Burnet Board Member, Professor Sharon Lewin, Director of the Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity at Melbourne University.

The Minister for Health, The Hon. Sussan Ley, said the Council members have an important role in guiding the current and future health of Australians.

“The new Council provides an impressive cross section of high level skills and experience which will be extremely valuable to this key organisation,” Ms Ley said.

“Several members have been reappointed to ensure continuity of corporate knowledge and experience in supporting the new chief executive, Professor Anne Kelso AO.”

The NHMRC will play a vital role in setting the direction for the Medical Research Future Fund (MRFF).

The strategy for the MRFF will be developed with reference to the NHMRC’s strategy for medical research and public health research, and the priorities for research set by the NHMRC each triennium.

Professor Crabb is a founding member of the Medical Research Future Fund Action Group, established in August 2014 to advocate for the MRFF and its potential to transform Australia’s health and prosperity.

The new Council comprises:

  • Professor Brendan Crabb AC
  • Professor Bruce Robinson AM
  • Professor Sandra Eades
  • Ms Karen Carey
  • Professor Michael Kidd AM
  • Professor David Story
  • Professor Ingrid Scheffer AO
  • Professor Jonathan Carapetis
  • Professor Kathryn North AM
  • Professor Ian Olver AM
  • Professor Sharon Lewin
  • Adjunct Professor Graeme Samuel AC
  • Professor Elizabeth A Sullivan

Appointments to the Council of the NHMRC are for a three-year term.

Staff Member



Contact Details

For more information in relation to this news article, please contact:

Angus Morgan

Manager Media and Multimedia




Subscribe to News

Subscribe to receive our latest news: