Statement of support of TGA

Burnet Institute

21 September, 2021

Australia’s leading evidence-based health and medical organisations stand beside Australia’s key medicines regulator, the Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA).

We express full support for the vital work the TGA does to assess and regulate new medicines and vaccines. The TGA has a strong reputation for being expert, independent and rigorous in its assessments of new products, and is similarly rigorous in its assessment of the safety of vaccines, so as to improve and protect the health of all Australians.

Another essential role of our medicines regulator is to challenge, and where necessary, prosecute those who seek to mislead the Australian public about important health information so as to pursue their own interests. This role is particularly important in the current global health crisis.

Now is a time when Australians must have confidence in the assessments and recommendations of the TGA, and we believe Australians’ trust in the TGA is well placed.

The TGA must continue to be an independent, diligent, evidence driven and responsible medicines regulator focused on serving the health interest of Australians. Individuals and/or organisations with vested interests must not be allowed to undermine or derail their vitally important work.

Recent report of threats, intimidation and harassment aimed at TGA leadership and staff are a reason for serious concern and is an unacceptable development.

Signed and endorsed by the following organisations or individuals


Public Health Association of Australia Australian Academy of Science Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO) Australian College of Midwives Australian College of Nursing Australian Epidemiological Association Australian Virology Society Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes (AAMRI) The Royal Australasian College of Physicians (RACP) The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) The Kirby Institute The Sax Institute The Doherty Institute The Burnet Institute UNSW School of Population Health MTP Connect (MedTech and Pharma Growth Centre) Rural Doctors Association of Australia Vax Pol Lab Council of Academic Public Health Institutions Australasia (CAPHIA) Australian and New Zealand Society for Immunology Inc The Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand
School of Population and Global Health, the University of Western Australia School of Public Health, University of Sydney


Adjunct Professor Terry Slevin, CEO, Public Health Association of Australia Kellie Wilton, Principal Midwifery Officer, Australian College of Midwives Distinguished Laureate Professor Nicholas J. Talley AC, Chief Investigator NHMRC Centre for Research Excellence in Digestive Health, University of Newcastle Anna-Maria Arabia, CEO, Australian Academy of Science Professor Nathan Grills, FAFPHM, University of Melbourne Professor Jonathan Carapetis AM, President, Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes (AAMRI) Dr Peter Thomas, Executive Director, Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes (AAMRI) Professor John Wilson AM, President, the Royal Australian College of Physicians (RACP) Professor Lisa Jackson Pulver, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Indigenous Strategy & Services, University of Sydney Emeritus Professor Peter McDonald AM, Flinders University Dr Meru Sheel, National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health, Australian National University Melbourne Laureate Professor Sharon Lewin, Director, Doherty Institute, University of Melbourne Professor Dale Godfrey, Doherty Institute Peta Rutherford, CEO, Rural Doctors Association of Australia Dr Karen Price, President, Royal Australian College of General Practitioners Professor Margaret Hellard AM, Burnet Institute Professor Mike Toole, Burnet Institute Professor Ian Frazer, Faculty of Medicine, University of Queensland Prof Evelyne de Leeuw, Faculty of Medicine, UNSW Frank Quinlan and the Royal Flying Doctor Service of Australia Distinguished Professor Magdalena Plebanski, RMIT Professor Paul R Young, Head, School of Chemistry & Molecular Biosciences, University of Queensland Associate Professor Lucy Burr, Mater Health Respiratory and Sleep Medicine, Mater Hospital Brisbane Professor Gilda Tachedjian, Head, Life Sciences Discipline, Burnet Institute Professor Steven Turner, President, Australian and New Zealand Society for Immunology Professor Bruce Thompson, Dean and Professor of Health Sciences, Swinburne University of Technology Professor Tracy Smart AO, The Australian National University Professor Russell Gruen, Dean, ANU College of Health and Medicine, The Australian National University Professor Julie Leask, School of Nursing, University of Sydney Professor Steve Wesselingh, Executive Director, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI) Professor Tony Cunningham AO, Director, Centre for Virus Research, University of Sydney Professor Helen Marshall, Director, Vaccinology and Immunology Research Trials Unit, Women’s and Children’s Hospital Professor Rebecca Ivers, Head, School of Population Health, UNSW Professor Anthony Kelleher, Director and Professor of Medicine, Kirby Institute Professor Robert Booy, Child & Adolescent Health, Sydney Medical School Professor Joel Negin, Head, School of Public Health, University of Sydney Dr Jane Frawley, NHMRC Research Fellow, University of Technology Sydney Faculty of Medicine & Health, UNSW Professor Vlado Perkovic, Dean UNSW Medicine & Health Professor Michael Farrell, Director National Drug & Alcohol Research Centre Professor Adam Jaffe, Head of School of Women’s & Children’s Health Professor Michael Grimm, Head of St George & Sutherland Clinic School Professor Mark Harris, Director, Centre for Primary Care & Equity Professor Sean Emery, Senior Vice Dean, Research and Operations A/Professor Adrienne Torda, Education & Innovation Associate Professor Holly Seale, School of Population Health, UNSW Medicine and Health A/Professor Belinda Parmenter, Head of School Health Sciences Professor Jerry Greenfield, Head of St Vincents Clinical School Professor Philip Crowe, Head of Prince of Wales Clinical School Professor Kimberlie Dean, Head of School of Psychiatry Tracey Good, Executive Officer Professor Rebecca Ivers, School of Population Health Scientia Professor Mark Harris, Executive Director Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity Associate Professor Anita Heywood, School of Population Health Associate Professor James Wood, School of Population Health Professor Tony Butler, School of Population Health Daren Draganic, Manager, Kirby Institute Zoe Terpening, Strategic Lead, UNSW Health Precincts Professor Alta Schutte, Theme Principal, Cardiac, Vascular and Metabolic Medicine Associate Prof David Muscatello

Contact Details

For more information in relation to this news article, please contact:

Burnet Institute

[email protected]




Subscribe to News

Subscribe to receive our latest news: