Queen's Birthday Honour for Associate Professor Edwina Wright

Burnet Institute

14 June, 2021

Image: Associate Professor Edwina Wright AM

Associate Professor Edwina Wright, Burnet Institute Honorary Principal Fellow and Co-Head HIV Elimination Program, is among eminent Australians acknowledged for their outstanding community service in the 2021 Queen’s Birthday Honours.

And we offer our warmest congratulations to Burnet associates and collaborators who were also recognised, including some who are especially special to Burnet:

  • Frances Adamson AC, for eminent service to public administration through the advancement of Australia’s diplomatic, trade and cultural interests
  • Stephanie Copus Campbell AM, for significant service to aid and development initiatives in Papua New Guinea (PNG);
  • Emeritus Professor Ian Riley AM, for significant service to medical education and research, to endocrinology, and to women’s health;
  • Professor Helena Teede AM, for significant service to medical education and research, to endocrinology, and to women’s health; and
  • Peter Ivany AO, for distinguished service to the community as a supporter of sporting, arts, film, not-for-profit, and natural science organisations.

And a number of others who we feel great kinship with including:

  • Janine Kirk AO, for distinguished service to the community through leadership and advisory roles in not-for-profit organisations;
  • Professor Alan Trounson AO, for distinguished service to medical science, and to in vitro fertilisation and stem cell technologies;
  • Andrew Blode AM, for significant service to children as an advocate for protection policy standards; and
  • Julie Reilly AM, for service to the community through charitable organisations.

An infectious diseases physician and clinical researcher at the Alfred Hospital, Associate Professor Wright was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to medicine and research, notably for people living with HIV/AIDS.

Associate Professor Wright’s clinical research interests include HIV prevention involving pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP) and early HIV treatment, HIV cure and HIV- associated neurological disorders.

The Secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade since 2016, Frances Adamson is the forthcoming Governor of South Australia.

Image: Australia’s Ambassador to China HE Frances Adamson inspects Burnet’s Nanjing BioPoint laboratory in 2015

As Australia’s Ambassador to the People’s Republic of China from 2011-15, Ms Adamson officially opened Burnet’s Nanjing BioPoint facility in Jiangsu Province, which was a major step forward in the Institute’s vision of a long-term engagement with China.

Both Janine Kirk and Peter Ivany were elevated to Officers of the Order of Australia after previous appointments as Members of the Order of Australia, in 2006 and 2007 respectively.

An entrepreneur and philanthropist, Mr Ivany is a former Burnet Institute board member, while Ms Kirk was the founding Chief Executive of The Prince’s Trust Australia.

The Executive Director of Oil Search Foundation, Ms Copus Campbell is a former head of Australia’s aid programs to PNG and has executive management experience with CARE Australia.

Under Ms Copus Campbell, Oil Search Foundation has partnered with Burnet to pursue improved health services and outcomes for the people of PNG through research, capacity building, technical and policy advice and implementation.

Professor Teede holds leadership roles across health care, research and policy including as the Director of Monash Centre for Health Research Implementation, School of Public Health and co-director of the Monash Institute of Medical Engineering, Monash University.


Contact Details

For more information in relation to this news article, please contact:

Associate Professor Edwina J Wright

Head, Wright Group




Subscribe to News

Subscribe to receive our latest news: