Dr Nick Scott is Gust-McKenzie Medallist

Burnet Institute

19 May, 2021

Image: Dr Nick Scott, Burnet Institute's 2021 Gust-McKenzie Medalist

Dr Nick Scott, one of Australia’s leading infectious disease modellers is Burnet Institute’s Gust-McKenzie Medallist for 2021.

Dr Scott was presented with his award at Burnet’s 2021 Annual General Meeting, held online this year.

An econometrician who completed his PhD in Mathematics in 2012, Dr Scott is Head of Burnet Institute’s Modelling and Biostatistics Group.

He and his team have played a key part in informing governments and policy makers on the best approach to addressing diseases such as malaria, HIV, TB and viral hepatitis in over 40 countries.

Accepting the award, Dr Scott paid tribute to colleagues’ support through the pandemic.

“It’s been a bumpy year to be an infectious disease modeller. I’ve been really fortunate that I’ve had a lot of great support in my time at Burnet. A lot of this is a result of having a great team,” Dr Scott said.

In 2020, Dr Scott and his team played a vital role in informing Australia’s COVID-19 response, by modelling ways in which restrictions could be altered to reduce the social and economic burden on Australians without compromising control of the coronavirus.

This included modelling for the Victorian Government which highlighted the importance of not reopening too soon after the lockdown during winter 2020.

Dr Scott said his team has continued to inform governments in Australia in 2021 as circumstances continue to change.

“Now that major lockdowns are over, we are looking at how vaccine rollout can be prioritised to minimise outbreak risk, and what approaches should be taken if new cases are detected in the community,” Dr Scott said.

Gust-McKenzie Medal honours Burnet’s founding directors

Named in honour of founding directors of the Burnet and Austin Research Institutes, Professor Ian Gust AO and Emeritus Professor Ian McKenzie AM, the Gust-McKenzie Medal is presented annually to an outstanding mid-career Burnet staff member in recognition of excellence in research and/or public health.

Previous winners of the Gust-McKenzie medal include Professor Leanne Robinson (2020), Dr Suman Majumdar (2019), Dr Anna Hearps (2018), Associate Professor Joseph Doyle (2017).

Contact Details

For more information in relation to this news article, please contact:

Associate Professor Nick Scott

Head, Modelling & Biostatistics




Subscribe to News

Subscribe to receive our latest news: